The concert has finished

Kaja Draksler Octet (INT)

Experimental Vocal European Jazz Highlights DKK 100 DKK / stud. 50 DKK

No advance tickets

The newest project of the Slovenian pianist and composer Kaja Draksler brings together a colourful group of eight international musicians, all based in Amsterdam. As in her solo performances, Draksler combines composition and improvisation, drawing from a variety of styles, places and historical periods, inspired by the large array of possibilities and talents of the ensemble. Strictly notated material meets free improvisation, singer-songwriter material is superimposed on the textures inspired by modern classical composition. Intricately structured pieces alternate with simple theme & chord-based songs that offer freedom at the
level of form, instrumentation and interpretation. Several pieces feature lyrics written especially for this group by the Greek artist Andriana Minou. This group is Draksler’s attempt to realize some of the thoughts on music collected during her years of jazz and classical composition studies, as well as her experiences as an active improviser. The Oct...

Read more

Line up:
  • Laura Polence - voice
  • Björk Níelsdóttir - voice
  • Ada Rave - reeds
  • Ab Baars - reeds
  • George Dumitriu - violin & viola
  • Kaja Draksler - piano
  • Lennart Heyndels - double bass
  • Onno Govaert - drums

Similar Concerts for Copenhagen Jazz Festival 2019