The concert has finished

Thou Sonic Friend & Jakob Kullberg

Modern Experimental Free Jazz Avantgarde DKK 1 koncert: 80 DKK (10 €) 2 koncerter: 120 DKK (15€) Hele dagen: 200 DKK (25€) Billetter sælges kun i døren.

No advance tickets

Thou Sonic Friend joins forces with the renowned Danish cellist Jakob Kullberg to perform a reimagining of Niels Rønsholdt’s Country. Dedicated to Kullberg, Country is a fresh take on the modern concerto; the soloist is featured as a singer, accompanying himself on cello as one would with a guitar. Originally composed for soloist with orchestra, the music is presented here in a more intimate, chamber music setting. Thou Sonic Friend create soundscapes and textures to underscore the themes from the work, occasionally luring Kullberg into their fantastical world of free improvisation. In this format, Country becomes a new work every time it is performed, unfolding in the slipstream of the original composition.

Jakob Kullberg is a cellist of international acclaim, having worked closely with composers such as Kaiija Saariaho, Bent Sørensen, and Per Nørgaard, who dedicated many of works to Kullberg. Parallel to his work within both classical and contemporary music, Jakob...

Read more

Line up:
  • Jakob Kullberg: cello, vokal,
  • Birgitte Lyregaard: vokal, percussion, objekter,
  • Carolyn Goodwin: klarinet, bas klarinet,
  • Peter Tinning: guitar, effekter

Similar Concerts for Copenhagen Jazz Festival 2021