The concert has finished

Oren Ambarchi & Crys Cole (AUS/CAN) + Sarah Hennies (US)

Experimental 21st Century Jazz DKK 120 kr inkl gebyr

Sarah Hennies is a composer and percussionist. Her work utilizes an often grueling, endurance-based performance practice in a subversive examination of psychoacoustics, queer identity, and performance art. "Contralto" is a one-hour work for video, strings, and percussion that exists in between the spaces of experimental music and documentary. The piece features a cast of transgender women speaking, singing, and performing vocal exercises accompanied by a dense and varied musical score that includes a variety of conventional and "non-musical" approaches to sound-making.

Oren Ambarchi and Crys Cole reimagine electro-acoustic music, not simply as “abstract” sound, but as a diary, a love poem, a dream. Their second release ‘Hotel Record’ continues to explore the pair’s simultaneously musical and romantic relationship in a more subtle fashion, presenting four long-form pieces that touch on the variety of forms the life of this couple takes: as a musical duo, as a pa...

Read more

Similar Concerts for Vinterjazz 2019