The concert has finished

Be:OK Art Lab: Fra Bartok til Postmodernisme

Modern DKK 75 kr.

No advance tickets

BE:OK, short for the full title 'Be Ok Art Lab', is an international trio of improvisers, arrangers, and composers who share a mutual admiration for the music of Belá Bartok. Pianist Johann Fritsche (GER), drummer Fiach Ó Briain (IRE), and bassist Otso Mielonen (FIN) were commissioned to perform a concert for the 140th anniversary of Bela Bartok at the Musikhuset in Aarhus, Denmark in 2021. Jazz musicians throughout the 21st century have looked to western classical music for inspiration and the music of Belá Bartok is rich with such melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic delights. The trio focus on a process of deconstructing/reconstructing and reimagining/recontextualising the motifs and forms found in Bartok's Mikrokosmos. Through their arrangements they bridge classical work with the postmodern, highlight the unique concepts found in Bartok's music, and utilise his themes as a springboard for their own creativity and expression.

Line up:
  • Fiach O'Briain (IRE): Trommer
  • Johann Fritsche (GER) Klaver
  • Otso Kasperi Mielonen (FIN) Bas

Similar Concerts for Vinterjazz 2023