The concert has finished

Zola Mennenöh “ A Labour of love” (INT) + Axel Dörner & HErzliche Beegugn (INT)

Experimental Vocal DKK 100 DKK / Stud. 50 DKK

No advance tickets

"A labour of love" is a cross-aesthetic, electroacoustic work by singer, improviser and composer Zola Mennenöh. Originally written for the string quartet Halvcirkel and Simon Toldam (piano/synth), the piece is today performed in a special cast together with the Greek harpist Sissi Rada. In the space between minimalistic chamber music, avant-pop structures and multidimensional sound collages, painted pictures, does Mennenöh's strong solo singing finds space to hug and challenge the audience. The work examines the concept and potential of the interaction between softness and strength and invites to a compassionate treatment of the respective nature of our being.

Zola Mennenöh released her debut album "Longing for Belonging" in 2020 on Shahzad Ismaily's record label Figureight Records (NYC) and became nominated for the German jazz award in the category Album Vocal National. The Guardian listed her in 2021 as one of the 30 "best new artists in 2021". Zola Mennenöh tours ...

Read more

Line up:
  • Zola Mennenöh “ A Labour of love”:
  • Zola Mennenöh (DE/DK) - sang, sampler, komposition 
  • Halvcirkel strygekvartet - Bettina Marie Ezaki, Alba Thilo Nielsen, Mika Persdotter, Nicole Hogstrand
  • HErzliche Beegugn Septet:
  • Axel Dörner - trompet
  • Luka Zabric - alt saxofon
  • Michaela Turcerová - alt saxofon
  • Oda Dyrnes - cello
  • Margaux Oswald - klaver
  • Mark Ibsgaard Gregersen - kontrabas
  • Simon Forchhammer - trommer

Similar Concerts for Vinterjazz 2023